3rd – 9th October, 2011

The week started off very well – I attended my university’s first debate, about whether my university should be privatised. It was very stimulating to hear different arguments and formulate my own view (against the motion) and I should think I’ll attend those every week, apart from tomorrow where I’ll be going to the first trial to be part of the university’s ‘University Challenge’ team! Looks set to be a failure but will happily give it a shot.

On Tuesday I investigated things at the Officer Training Corps, and went to one of their introduction evenings. Needless to say, the things they do there look pretty spectacular – being paid to go to California to do Sky Diving probably says it all. Next weekend I’m going on a ‘selection weekend’ and, if I pass that I’ll be in. I’m cautious – I’ll see if I like it, and if not, I think I’ll be fairly comfortable in saying the Army is not for me.

On Wednesday I went to see The Lion King and the Lyceum theatre – it was spectacular, the performance really absorbed you and the music sent shivers down your spine. Despite having not seen the actual film (I know!), I really enjoyed it.

Thursday and Friday were rather absorbed by university work but on Friday evening my girlfriend came down, which made me very happy indeed! On Saturday evening we, and some university friends, went for a wonderful evening at Pizza Express and had a lovely time chatting and eating wonderful food. Puddings especially. Sunday was more work but we did find time to wonder through Camden Market together and promised ourselves that next time we’d have the liquid nitrogen ice cream. I was sad to see her head back off but we’ll see each other in two weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

