17th – 20th July, 2011

Apologies for the long delay in a post – not been home an awful lot the past few days! A good thing, I think.

17th

There were only two affairs for the 17th – After getting up late I did not have much time before I was off on my tennis match. It was my first away game and I didn’t play at all well but it was good fun, and I do believe I can feel myself getting back into the swing (excuse the pun) of tennis – shots, whilst far from perfect now, are occasionally replaced with a well timed lob or ground stroke. I would like to emphasise occasionally, but it is beginning to come back. The team were a lovely bunch of individuals and, despite our team losing overall (not helped by me whatsoever), we did it with a smile and enjoyed some nice food afterward.

The next item on the agenda was ebay, it was the last day for the free listing so I spent a good deal of time making sure all of the items were there, accurately described and with good pictures. And that was really it – looking back it seems like not much to do in a day but the tennis did take five hours or so, and I do seem to be able to lie in to extra-ordinarily late times.

18th

Today we were off to London. I had organised with many estate-agents on Friday places to go and see – it was looking promising until were were hit with troubles from fate. We missed the ‘fast’ train by one minute and so had to get the next one which stops at many more places – we were pushed for time but we should have been okay. Then, oddly, whilst we were on the train it came to a complete standstill for no apparent reason, progress was remarkably slow and the tannoy informed us that a train ahead had broken down  and there was a backlog. As you might’ve guessed this resulted in a tremendously slow journey. Along with delays on the underground it all resulted in missing the first viewing. This isn’t so bad, you might think, but I had invited my flatmate along and she had gone all the way to where the first viewing was, at a not insignificant cost, I imagine, from her own house – and we weren’t there. Feeling particularly awful I phoned her up and explained the situation – she said the estate agent wasn’t where he or she was meant to be. At any rate she managed to come for the second viewing but all of them ended up being rather uneventful. Either in serious need of work or no where near a tube. The long and short of it being that we’ve decided to wait and buy a house we think is perfect, rather than be forced to settle for one we don’t like, so now we’re looking into the letting market, at least for the first term.

19th & 20th

Off to the girlfriends house for a pleasant time reading and cooking and watching films. She’s gone off for a run now (I have the excuse of having no kit!) and tonight we’re off for a school leavers’ event. The parents have gone off for a holiday to Germany so I will be home alone most days – so no excuse for not doing exactly as I want – presently I am very close to finishing the crossword book! Though I must say I don’t feel at all ready to take on the might of a cryptic, but we shall see. Though it has helped develop my first ever clue: Somewhere under St. Andrew’s, clear?

Yesterday I was thinking it’d be really great to basically spend the whole holiday travelling around the world. And not just in a ‘touristy’ way, I should like to ingratiate myself into the culture else I feel one doesn’t really learn much. We had a school trip to India and it was so moving, but I think that was only the case because we were visiting orphanages, living in a true Indian college where students go, not tourists and I got a chance to see beggars on the street, see poor children and try to help, even in a very small way and it was so much more eye opening – I know this because we spent the last night having a meal in an actual hotel and it was simply a posh man’s eatery – ultra clean, a huge banquet, pristine glass and an individual hired to play the piano – absolutely nothing like what the previous week had lead me to believe to be the ‘real’ parts of some Indian counties.

Leave a Reply

