July 6th, 2011

Today started off with some baking – homemade Jaffa Cakes, to be precise. Let’s just say they didn’t turn out quite as well as the picture, but none-the-less, I’m glad I gave them a go! I spent a lot of time researching my career today, I’m deliberating whether to joint the forces as a doctor. It’s pretty heavy going to be quite honest and seems deeply mixed in moral issues. Being responsible for killing someone is a big deal, having your life at risk is a big deal. And yet, there are many pulls to the forces too – an incredible lifestyle with endless opportunities that you’d never get on civvy street. At any rate, something to ponder over deeply.

I went on my second run and took Stephen Fry’s advice on listening to an audiobook whilst doing so, my choice was Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis, he presents some sound and interesting arguments, as well as some Christian moral dilemmas. He suggested that Christians ought to give to the point where it stops them being able to do something they want. I’ve never really thought of that before, but I think it’s a good point. Giving to charity is an exemplary action, but does it mean quite as much as giving to the point where you are affected? It reminds me of the biblical story where the well-off in Israel donate thousands of pounds into a donation pot, and an old lady donates the only copper she has – yet Jesus remarks that she has given far more than an of the well-off donators. Lewis also interestingly remarks that if an individual has been privileged enough to have been raised by a ‘good’ family and does ‘good’ deeds each day, say, something simple like walking an elderly lady across the street, that might be a far less ‘good’ than someone who has been badly raised, a bully and scathing person through and through deciding of his own accord one day to not bully someone. I think these are very interesting ideas and definitely reveal an important sense of scale that’s worth thinking about.

After that I went to play some tennis but it was cut short by an invitation to Pizza Express who are running their 2-for-1 offer for Orange customers. I couldn’t refuse and indulged myself in their wonderful Garlic Dough-balls and Liggera pizzas and topped it off with a Camomile tea, which brought warming Peter Rabbit memories flooding back.

I feel I could have done more with my day, I’d certainly like to start getting up earlier. Perhaps I should make the sensible move and stop going to bed so damn late where I seem to destroy hours surfing the web not doing much!

Leave a Reply

